Security

Gmail detects potential mistakes in group e-mails

Google Inc.'s Gmail webmail service can now detect if users have included a potentially incorrect recipient in an e-mail message they're sending to a group.

The new feature, called “Got the wrong Bob?,” takes note of the people that a Gmail user usually includes in a group, and pops up an alert if an unfamiliar recipient is included.

“Got the wrong Bob?” will be released today with the Google Labs label, meaning it is considered to be an early stage prototype that could change significantly, become temporarily unavailable or even disappear without notice.

Gmail users interested in trying out the new feature can activate it by going to the Settings section of their account and clicking on the Labs tab, where they will see the new feature listed.

The feature complements another Labs feature for Gmail called “Suggest more recipients,” which detects when a recipient usually included in a group e-mail has been left out and asks the e-mail sender if they forgot this person. That feature has now been renamed “Don't forget Bob.”

The features are two of several that Google has designed to reduce the instances of embarrassing e-mail communications gaffes by Gmail users.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

GET TAHAWUL TECH IN YOUR INBOX

The free newsletter covering the top industry headlines

Send this to a friend