CIO 50 Awards honours the region’s leading IT decision makers

Winners of the CIO 50 Awards 2012

CIO 50 Awards and Forum 2012, the event honouring the leading lights of IT leadership in the Middle East, came to a grand close today with the awarding of 50 of the top CIOs from the region.

The CIO 50 Awards celebrates the top 50 organisations, and their IT heads, that are using information technology in innovative ways to deliver business value, whether by creating competitive advantage, optimising business processes, enabling growth or improving relationships with customers.

” The winners here have demonstrated their ability not only that they have executed their project well, but that they have done so in uncommon, innovative ways: pioneering a new technology, applying a familiar technology to a new purpose, setting the bar higher for their competitors. And they have demonstrated business value beyond a mere positive ROI, to show how the project changed the way they do business (whether internally or externally) or repositioned them competitively,” said Sathya Mithra Ashok, senior editor of CNME at the welcome note.

“We had more than a 100 CIOs in the room, and it was wonderful to see the participation from the audience as we went through the forum and the discussions of the day. They were especially responsive to the panel discussion, which centred around the changing investment priorities from CIOs, and how vendors and service providers address these changes in the best way possible,” said Richard Judd, MD of CPI Technology and Business.

The CIO 50 Awards and Forum 2012 was supported by CNME’s Strategic ICT Partner Etisalat, Platinum Sponsor EMC, event partners Emitac and Key Information Technology, and table sponsors Aptec and ITQAN.

The winners of the CIO 50 Awards (in random order) are:

  1. Mahmood Shaker from Qatar First Investment Bank
  2. Kirit Shah from the Landmark Group
  3. Dr Saif Al Ketbi from Abu Dhabi Ports Company
  4. Mohammed Younes from Abu Dhabi Education Council
  5. Trevor Moore from Abu Dhabi University
  6. Mohammed Saeed Al Shehhi from General Civil Aviation Authority
  7. Bas Wijne from Orbit Showtime Network
  8. Arun Tewary from Emirates Flight Catering
  9. Ahmad Almulla from DUBAL
  10. Abdulla Al Bastaki from the Roads and Transport Authority, Dubai
  11. Juma Al Ghaith from Dubai Customs
  12. Robert James Pickton from SEHA, Abu Dhabi
  13. Abdulsalam Bastaki from Dubai Silicon Oasis Authority
  14. Saji Oommen from Al Batha Group
  15. Sadiq Panjwani from Shuaa Capital
  16. Dr Jassim Hussain from Gulf Air
  17. Esam Hadi of ALBA, Bahrain
  18. Imad Taha of the Belhasa Group
  19. Muhammad Javeed from Paris Sorbonne University, Abu Dhabi.
  20. Wassim Hamwi, Meydan (Dubai Racing Club)
  21. Alok Srivastava from Masdar (Abu Dhabi Future Energy Company)
  22. Sebastian Samuel from AW Rostamani
  23. Hind Hasan Abdulrahim AlZarouni from Dubai Public Prosecution
  24. Entesar Al Hosani from Environment Agency, Abu Dhabi
  25. Muhammad Ali Albakri from Saudi Arabian Airlines
  26. Dr Tarek El Ahmady ElTobely of the Ministry of Higher Education in Egypt
  27. UVK Kumar from Doha Bank, Qatar
  28. David Teklit of the Jumeirah Group
  29. Thameem Rizvon from Kamal Osman Jamjoom Group
  30. Abdulla Hashim from Etisalat
  31. Mohamed Roushdy from Siraj Finance
  32. Fayez Maaraawi of Dubai World
  33. Hamdan Alkalbani at Methaq Takaful Insurance
  34. Khalid Lootah from the Ministry of Health, UAE
  35. Ali Al Ali of Health Authority, Abu Dhabi
  36. Richard Rhodes from Mafraq Hospital
  37. Arnab Debroy from Metito Overseas
  38. Mubaraka Ibrahim from the Department of Health and Medical Services, UAE
  39. Sa’di Awienat from the Qatar Foundation
  40. Ali Radhi from the MBC Group
  41. Deepak Kalra from Safeer Group
  42. Abdullah AlAttas from SAMACO, KSA
  43. Abdulrahim Almudhareb from Dubai Courts
  44. Javed Abbasi from the Gisba Group in KSA
  45. Amal Al Kuwari from the Supreme Education Council in Qatar
  46. Abdulla Hassan from the Department of Economic Development in Dubai
  47. John Loomis from the Arab National Bank, KSA
  48. Fadi Chehayeb of the National Bank of Kuwait
  49. Sami Al Dekheel of Kuwait Finance House, and
  50. AT Srinivasan from Qatar Airlines

 For more on the event and the winners, do read the February issue of CNME. You can also catch the tweets from the floor of the event on Search with #CIO50


Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


The free newsletter covering the top industry headlines